The West Cider

Finding the best cider in BC and beyond

Review: Left Field Cider – Little Dry

2 Comments

Background:

I only just heard about Left Field Cider Co. Just over a month ago, Orgle came home with the Left Field Cider’s Big Dry. It was a big win. I will post a mini-review in the coming weeks. So I had to try the Little Dry.

Kind: Little Dry by Left Field Cider in Mamette Lake, BC

Particulars:

It’s a smaller bomber. It’s 500mL and 6.5% alcohol by volume.

Corporate Description:

From Website (there’s no description of specific ciders): “handcrafted & artisanal, Left Field Cider Co. premium ciders are made in small batches that highlight the natural characteristics of the apple. our full juice ciders are made by blending bittersweet english and french cider varieties with crisp british columbia dessert apples. the result is a beautifully balanced cider with the right amount of subtle tannins and rich apple aromatics.”

Orgle’s Thoughts:

“Fizzy.”

My Thoughts:

Once again, Orgle has it right.  Well, one of the characteristics at least.

It is fizzy. That’s how I like my lighter ciders. It is fairly fruity with a slight tartness that you get from moderately bitter apples. It’s not terribly apple juicy, but rather an essence of apple.  It’s a refreshing and easily consumed cider. One minute I had a glass left, then it was gone. It would be fantastic on a hot evening – though you might go through more than one.

It is slightly dry, but not as much as Left Field’s Big Dry – a cider I very much like.

The colour is quite light, like decently-hydrated urine. 🙂

As for smell (following the last review and my displeasure at its scent), it was subtly apple and otherwise not concerning.

And it has a great label. The design is just so sharp. It sticks out when I see it. I’m drawn to it.

Recommended?

Sure. While I like the Big Dry better, this one is good for the reasons above.  I’d suggest it to less-experienced cider drinkers as a way to get into drier kinds. Because it’s so fizzy, I could imagine using it like champagne is used in some cocktails.

But who am I kidding, it wouldn’t last long enough in my fridge to be considered for anything but a refreshing drink on a hot night.

Where to Buy:

I’ve seen it at Legacy Liquor Store here in Vancouver. The Left Field website also has a PDF of other places to get it.

2 thoughts on “Review: Left Field Cider – Little Dry

  1. Pingback: Mini Review – Left Field Cider – Big Dry « The West Cider

  2. Pingback: Stock up while you can! « The West Cider

Leave a comment