The West Cider

Finding the best cider in BC and beyond

Review: Dukes Cider

3 Comments

Background:

It is hard for me to get past what seems like a grammatical error in the title of this cider. I really want it to be Duke’s or Dukes’ but I guess it is the third option: Dukes Cider Co.

Anyways, I grabbed it so that I had a option in my fridge that wasn’t a bomber. Sometimes a girl just needs a can-worth, not nearly a litre.

As well, I wanted to make some onions in a cider reduction. Chop up a bunch of onions, simmer in cider with a touch of honey, mustard, salt and pepper. Great on a sausage, a pizza, crackers with cheese… And I didn’t want to use my sea cider for such an endeavour.

Kind: Dukes Dry Apple Cider – Tree Brewing in Kelowna, BC

Particulars:

Six pack of 355mL cans at 5% ABV.

Corporate Description:

From Facebook page: Dukes has a very ‘real’ taste compared to most other apple ciders and boasts a subtle apple flavour with a nice dry finish. There is nothing artificial in taste about it and at only 5% ABV it is very easy to drink and perfect for any occasion, whether it’s poured over ice or well chilled and straight out of the can.

Orgle’s Thoughts:

“I’m pleased it is not too sweet. It’s not the most flavourful cider though.”

My Thoughts:

I think I start all “my thoughts” with agreeing with Orgle. That’s why we’re such a good team!

But he’s right. It is a dry cider, but lacks in flavour. It’s like the light beer of the cider world.

I think my descriptor was “meh” – it has no bite or notable flavour. It’s light in colour. It has moderate carbonation.

It did nothing to cleanse my palate. (For dinner I had a pistachio and lime encrusted rainbow trout with spinach salad, so that had some strong flavours, but it didn’t manage to cut through it or wash it out as well!)

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not gross. It’s just not special. I have five more in the fridge that I will easily consume. It just lacks a kick.

The hotter the weather gets, the better this cider gets. But as we head into fall, it might be the base for a mulled cider.

Recommended?

It’s not that I don’t recommend it, it’s just there are better ciders out there. It’s fine.

Where to Buy:

I grabbed it at Firefly. But you can find it at all sorts of liquor stores around town.

3 thoughts on “Review: Dukes Cider

  1. Pingback: Australian Ciders – A look at how that industry has Canada beat « The West Cider

  2. Pingback: Finding the best cider: A blind taste test « The West Cider

  3. Pingback: Duke’s Cider Recall « The West Cider

Leave a comment