The West Cider

Finding the best cider in BC and beyond

Review – Cheeky Rascal Apple Cider

2 Comments

Background:

The first few ciders I tried in Australia seemed a bit too sweet for my liking, and by purchasing four or six packs, ended up with far too many.  Then I found out you could buy just one at a time!

Kind: Cheeky Rascal Apple Cider by Rebello Wines

Size: 330mL glass bottle

Strength: 7.5%

Company description: Cheeky Rascal Apple is a refreshingly clean, crisp blend of the best in-season varietals: currently pink lady and granny smith. Lightly bubbled, there’s the distinct taste of fresh green apple, with an off-dry but well balanced mid palate and a hint of acidity.

Orgle’s thoughts:

“I think you will like it.”

My thoughts:

“Finally! A not so sweet cider in Australia! (I’m sure there are others as I have bought a few to try.) It’s a bit bitter, a bit tart, still very appley and crisp.”

I remember liking it quite a bit – and wished I had tried some of the other flavours available: Strawberry&Apple, Raspberry&Apple, Pear, Strawberry&Pear, Raspberry&Pear, Summerberry, Mulled Apple, and Mulled Pear.

I wish I knew how much I paid for these ciders… I wonder if it was more expensive than other ciders because Australian liquor laws charge more for stronger beers. Is that the same as cider? Are there any Aussie cider drinkers who can help me out?

Where to buy:

If you live in Australia, you can just buy it online! Or at a store. Alas, this is another example why I wish we could see down under ciders in Canada.

2 thoughts on “Review – Cheeky Rascal Apple Cider

  1. Hi and thanks for the review.
    In Oz, ciders are taxed like wine so it’s based on the wholesale value not the strength. Artificially flavored drinks, like the imported big Swedish brands are taxed at double the rate of beer, based on alc strength.
    Cheers,

    Matt

Leave a comment